Seared Scallops with Corn and Bacon Hash

We had a great St. Patrick’s Day, did you?  We spent the day at the beach, eating lots of yummy food and building sand castles.  My husband commented that only in Hawaii would you have corned beef and cabbage along with ahi poke on the same plate :)  Our little leprechaun has started crawling and is getting into all kinds of mischief…I love him so!

IMG_7485I read Dinner, A Love Story recently.  It’s a wonderful book that centers around helping families get back to the dinner table together.  I’ve been trying really hard to make sure our family eats dinner together – to start a routine of sitting down and talking about our days.  This is sometimes an act of God with a three year old and a seven month old :)  But our daughter has actually started asking, “Did you have a good day at work, Dad?” when we sit down, so I think that’s progress!

The book really struck me because it’s written by a mom who has found recipes that work for their busy lifestyle!  She actually keeps a diary of every dinner they eat, and then annotates it with whether it’s a keeper or what she would do next time.  She also does that for their big parties – what was a hit, what wasn’t, how much they should make the next time, etc.  After many years, she has some tried and true recipes that they keep going back to, that their kids will eat (with some modifications) and that are really healthy and satisfying.  There are recipes from the days before kids, the early stages after kids when life was kind of crazy, and the later stages when they could actually think about entertaining again :)

dinner, a love storyThis recipe for seared scallops with corn and bacon hash totally jumped out at me!  I love scallops.  Whenever I see them on a menu, I almost always order them.  There’s just something about really good buttery scallops with a little bit of a crisp on the outside.  Despite my love for them, I’ve actually never made them at home.  I’ve always been intimidated by them; but after reading through Jenny’s recipe, which seemed pretty simple, I decided to give it a try.  The secret is really dry scallops and a really hot pan!

sea scallopsStart by patting your sea scallops dry.  I took my time with this, because if you don’t get them dry, then they won’t sear well and get that nice crispy outside.  Remove the tough muscle that is sometimes present on the side, and then add some salt and pepper to both sides.  I also prepared some shrimp because I didn’t think I had enough scallops to feed five people…sometimes you gotta improvise :)

seared scallopsNext, add some butter and olive to a pan and get it good and hot.  Add your scallops and cook about 1.5 – 2 minutes per side.  I found that a really thin spatula was the best for turning, because it didn’t remove that nice sear that you worked so hard for!  Next time, I would use a bigger pan so I didn’t have to do so many batches.  When you are done with the scallops, set them aside.  To the pan, add some garlic and a little bit more butter to those lovely brown bits on the bottom. Then add some white wine and lemon juice, and reduce it down until you have a thickened sauce.  The smell of the scallops, butter, wine and garlic was amazing :)

bacon and basilI also made the corn and bacon hash that Jenny recommends as a side.  It’s so simple – just crisp up some bacon, then dice it up.  To the pan, add a shallot and cook until tender, then add in some fresh or frozen corn kernels and some fresh basil, salt and pepper.  Top your hash with the cooked scallops and pour the sauce all over.  I loved the freshness of this meal…the buttery scallops combined with the fresh summery flavors of corn and basil, and that little bit of a salty bite from the bacon…heavenly!

seared scallops with corn and bacon hashThis meal would be perfect with a simple salad and some fresh bread to dip into that luxurious sauce!

Seared Scallops with Corn and Bacon Hash

From Dinner, A Love Story

20-24 large sea scallops, patted dry, small muscle removed from the side

Salt and pepper

3 T butter

1 T olive oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup dry white wine (I used Sauvignon Blanc)

1 T lemon juice

Pat your scallops dry with paper towels.  Make sure to get the scallops as dry as possible, so they will sear well.  Remove the little muscle on the side (if present) and season with salt and pepper.  Heat a large pan over medium high heat with 1 T of the butter and 1 T of olive oil.  Get the pan really nice and hot, then add in your scallops, cooking about 1 1/2 to 2 minutes per side.  Make sure when you turn the scallops to try to get the crust to come with it, a thin spatula worked best for me.  Remove the scallops to a plate.  Reduce the heat to medium, and add your remaining 2 T of butter and the minced garlic, cooking for about 30 seconds, making sure not to burn the garlic.  Then turn the heat up to high, add in your white wine and lemon juice, and watch the sauce closely as it boils and reduces down until just syrupy, not too thick.  Remove from the heat and pour over your scallops.  Serve immediately with corn and bacon hash, and a simple salad with crusty bread for dipping :)

Corn and Bacon Hash

1 piece bacon, cooked and diced (I used 2 pieces of turkey bacon)

1 small shallot, minced

4 ears of corn, kernels removed (I used one large bag of frozen corn)

5 basil leaves, chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

In a separate pan, cook one slice of bacon until crisp.  Remove to a paper towel, then chop into small pieces.  In the remaining bacon grease, cook one minced shallot until just tender.  Add in the corn and cook for about 2 minutes.  Remove to a bowl, and add in your basil leaves and salt and pepper to taste.

Are there any things that you always order when you see it on a menu?

For me, it’s scallops, shrimp, and bread pudding :)

23 thoughts on “Seared Scallops with Corn and Bacon Hash

  1. I LOVE scallops, too! And I can’t believe Ryan is crawling already. He’s soooo cute! Need to catch up soon. Been thinking about you guys a lot lately. Miss you!

  2. First — your kids are adorable! Love your son’s big eyes and your daughter’s big giggle!!

    Thanks for the review of “Dinner: A Love Story” — I think I’ll check that out. I promised myself this year that we would eat better (read, not eat out as much) and I find I’m always looking for new ideas.

    And I give you props for starting the dinnertime together routine now. That’s fantastic! I’m still clinging to the family dinner with every last bit of will I have. Might change later on, but I sure hope not!

    • I feel like most people say it gets easier to have family dinner when the kids are a bit older, but then once the after school activities and sports practices start, that it gets harder again! We’re definitely not successful a lot of the time…last night my husband got home late so he was eating one handed with a crying baby in the other, and I was literally shoveling food in so that I could put the baby to bed :).

  3. Your St Patrick’s Day menu made me think of Thanksgiving — nothing goes with turkey like your grandmother’s sushi! I love your writing style. I feel like you’re just sitting down to chat with me. I requested Dinner, A Love Story from the library. Books have to earn a place in my house so I’ll buy it if it’s a keeper. It made me think of Tender at the Bone which might be the complete opposite of it. Have you read it? If not, I can let you borrow it. I love the scallops at Pah Ke’s in Kaneohe. I tend to order that, duck, or lamb when I’m out. I usually go with a lilikoi dessert.

    • Haha, you’re totally right about the turkey and sushi, Beth! :) I actually requested the book from the library too…you might want to check out her blog, to see if you like her style/recipes: http://www.dinneralovestory.com

      I’ve never heard of Tender at the Bone and would love to borrow it!

      I feel like we should have a night out at Pah Ke’s now :)

  4. I just love reading the story behind your recipe posts. The scallops look awesome and I assume they were fresh?? What a tasty recipe. I can see why it jumped out of the cookbook. Also love the pictures of the children. They have grown in such a short time! Have a great week, Thea.

    • Thanks, Thea! Those scallops were actually frozen and then defrosted…I was a little worried that the texture would be off because of this, but they were fine!

      Yes, the kids are growing so fast…I want to freeze time with my son and savor all of his baby moments :)

      Hope you have a great week, too!

    • I’m so glad the bread has been such a hit at your house :) We have a little more buttermilk left, but not enough for a whole recipe…I might make buttermilk pancakes this weekend!

  5. Thank you for sharing about this book! never heard of it but it looks like a book I would enjoy reading! this recipe looks very good and is something we would enjoy in our family! btw, your two kids are adorable! :-)

  6. I seriously can’t wait till the semester is over so I can read some books for leisure! Tim and I have been making more of an effort to sit down at the table and converse while eating. We normally just stare at the TV. But then again, we hardly eat together during the weekdays :(.
    I absolutely LOVE scallops! You and I have such similar food preferences! If I see scallops or bread pudding (my fav dessert in the whole wide world) then it’s over. Tim always lets out a sigh of relief as I usually take FOREVER to order.
    Love you, my dear friend! Seriously, talk to you soon!!! ;)

    • I think we really do have similar tastes because I always think the things you order sound SO good!! Bread pudding…is there anything better? :) Patrick and I have similar tastes too, so he usually just asks me “what are we ordering?” and I’ll tell him my top two picks and if he agrees, then we split. I love variety in eating, especially when eating out!

      Thank you for your phone message, sorry I was working this past weekend, but I’m going to give you a call tomorrow to see if we can catch up! I miss you!!!

  7. Pingback: Chicken Pot Pie for the ones you love | My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

