Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

Thank you to my friend, Kanani, for suggesting that someone make this healthified chocolate chip cookie dough dip for our women’s bible study group this week!  At first, I was worried that people would be able to detect the beans in there, but it got the thumbs up from both adult women and a bunch of kids, who devoured it and couldn’t guess the secret ingredient.  I’ve made it twice in the past week…once with graham crackers for dipping, and the second time with fresh strawberries.  Both were delicious!  It actually really looks like cookie dough too, so it’s a fun thing to bring to a party or get-together…or huddle over with a spoon in front of your fridge :)

ImageYou just pour your rinsed and drained white beans, brown sugar (you could also use honey or agave), peanut butter, milk, oats (or flaxseed), salt, baking soda, and vanilla into a food processor and let it go until it’s really smooth.  My daughter had a lot of fun pushing the button on the food processor :)  Then stir in your chocolate chips and you are ready to dig in!
ImageSo I went back to work in February, and had a bit of a rough time with the transition.  I’ve still been cooking and baking and taking pictures, so I have a ton of yummy recipes to share with you all and have missed being part of the blogging community!  I’m hoping to start posting at least once a week, now that I feel like I’ve got my feet under me with the job and taking care of the kids.  On a positive note, I’ve really enjoyed seeing patients again…the children and families have been wonderful and I realize again and again what an honor and privilege it is to be someone’s pediatrician :)

Now I just have to get myself to bed earlier, so I’m able to get up early with a smile on my face…please tell me some of you used to be night owls, but are now morning people…I have to cling to some hope of changing my ways!  I used to be able to get by on very little sleep, but nowadays if I don’t get 8-9 hours of sleep at night (with waking up 2-3 times to feed my little boy)…then I am cranky and impatient the next day, which is not good for the kids or my poor husband!  I think I owe them some more cookie dough dip :)

ImageHealthy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

From Chocolate Covered Katie

1 can chickpeas or white beans, drained and rinsed

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp baking soda

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup skim milk

2/3 cup brown sugar

3 T oats

2/3 cup chocolate chips

Place all the ingredients, except chocolate chips, in a food processor and process until the mixture is very smooth.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Serve with fruit or graham crackers for dipping!

Are you a night owl or a morning person?  How many hours of sleep do you need?

Any suggestions on how to make getting up early easier? 

I’ve been trying to go to bed earlier (before 10), but not always successful!  And I don’t drink caffeine anymore, so it’s a bit hard not to have a pick me up in the morning.  Would love any of your suggestions!!

38 thoughts on “Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

  1. I’m glad you tried and liked this recipe. I’ve seen it floating around but wasn’t sure because of the beans. I’ll have to give it a try!

    Is it possible to be a day person? I don’t like to get up in the morning and I find myself tired once it hits like 8… Lol.

    • Jill, you crack me up! At least you are most functional when you really need to be :). I’m always impressed with how you manage to do so many fun and enriching things with your kids!!

      • Don’t forget you have a little one. My “little one” is over two years old now. When she was a tiny baby, I didn’t do anything but drink coffee, watch movies and bake. So definitely cut yourself some slack there. Plus you’re working!

        It’s by the grace of God that I get anything done. That’s pretty much it. Lol.

      • I keep telling myself to just enjoy this time, because they’re only going to be babies for so long :) We often have days now where we just stay at home and play…it’s less stressful and I think my 3 year old actually loves all the one-on-one attention!

  2. So glad to see you back–best of luck on such a big transition! This dip looks like a great after school snack idea. My kids are always ravenous when they get home. I can’t wait to try it!

    • Great idea! I hope they like it…it’s pretty quick to make and keeps well in the fridge!

      Thanks for your encouragement…it’s getting a little easier :). Hope you’re having a great day, Melissa!

  3. This dip sounds really good, and filling with the chickpeas! I have noticed in quite a few dessert recipes lately that people are sneaking in chickpeas. Looks yummy too. Glad to see you back on the blogging grid! Sounds like you’re balancing a lot with the kids, work, and family life. I am a morning person actually, something about the early hours of the morning that I find really calming. I guess I will also have to get used to being a night owl though, seeing as I’m starting med school in August. :)

    • Ooh, congratulations!! Where will you be going to med school? It will serve you well to be a morning person in medical school. There were a few late nights (overnight shifts), but mostly early mornings :)

      • Thank you! :) I’m going to Touro University in Vallejo, CA- joining their D.O. program. It’s right here in the Bay Area, close to home. I’m looking forward to starting my journey into medicine, maybe you have some tips to offer me :)

  4. Thank you for making the dip! Did you prefer it with the strawberries? I am currently about 6 hours of sleep a night and it’s not good. I would be a much more patient and kind mother with more sleep. I think I need to set an earlier time to have a shower (starts my bedtime routine). I tell myself that every morning I wake up and then don’t do it…

    • The strawberries were nice and fresh, but I liked the graham crackers too!! Pretzels would also work…the contrast of sweet and salty :)

      What time do you usually go to bed? Let’s encourage each other to go to bed earlier! Last night I was actually in bed at 8 pm, which sounds crazy, but I actually feel so much better this morning! I definitely notice how much more impatient I am with the kids when I don’t get enough sleep.

  5. Hey Maura! I’d been missing you a little over here in blogging world and was beginning to wonder what was going on… and now it all makes sense! Sorry to hear you had a rough time with the transition, it must be difficult, not only with going from being at home to going to work, but with having to leave your gorgeous kids.
    I’m sure you will get used to it, and the reduced hours of sleep… I can be that person that tells you she went from being a night owl to a morning person. I used to stay out all hours, and sleep the entire morning away. Needing a good 10 hours to feel rested. Now with pastry work I get 6 hours sleep max, and am typically up at 5 – 6am. You adjust, and you will be fine :-)
    The cookie dough dip looks great by the way! Love that it is healthy! And am happy to have you back in blog land. X

    • Natasha, I’ve missed you too!! Can’t wait to get caught up on all your delicious baked goods :) Congratulations on the pastry job!! How has it been going? Thank you for the encouragement with the sleep…I’ve been going to bed super early and definitely notice an improvement!

  6. I am pinning this recipe so I can try it later on when I have a chance to bake. I am always looking for recipes like this. the hidden treasures of yummy but still with the nutritious factor. You don’t quite feel as guilty when you take that extra cookie. So appreciate you sharing your nutrition and medical expertise. Hope things are going OK as you have re-entered the work world. It is quite a juggle especially with little ones. Take Care, Thea

    • Thanks, Thea! I’m also a big fan of secretly healthy treats :).

      Thanks also for your words of encouragement…it’s hard when I feel like I’m bring pulled in many directions, but I suppose I’ll just have to give it some time! Hope you’re having a great week :)

      • Hi again! Hope the adjustment period continues to be OK. I have to admit I am so enjoying our bloggy connection because I am not sure if you know this, but my older daughter is in med school right now and is hoping to become an emergency room doctor. I so respect the studies that you have gone through and now you are trying to balance a family at the same time. Your expertise as a pediatrician is so needed but I am sure you are torn between home, family and working with your patients. I have always worked as a teacher full time and raised a family. It was a juggle at times but I had great support from my husband. Hope you are having a good week too! ~Thea

      • That is wonderful, Thea! I’m sure she is working very hard. Emergency medicine is so fascinating…does she enjoy the variety and fast pace? I worked in an ER for one year after residency, and learned a lot from it.

        You are so right, it truly is a blessing to have a supportive husband…on the nights when I’m too exhausted to make a nice dinner, he’s happy to eat whatever we have on hand in the fridge or freezer, and helps me out with bedtime routines :) It’s good to hear that you successfully made it to the other side as a full time working mom, and you’ve obviously done a wonderful job with your children!

  7. It’s got beans in it and it still tastes like cookie dough? SIGN ME UP! :) Seriously, I’m going to give this a try later on today — thanks so much for posting the recipe. I’m also linking to this post on my blog today as one of the ways to combat the horrible Daylight Saving Time jump. I don’t spring forward well without chocolate… :)

    • Joan, you always make me laugh, thank you!! I hope losing an hour went okay in your household. We don’t have daylight savings in Hawaii…so when I moved to the mainland for college, I thought it was a malfunction when the clock changed on my computer…needless to say I was off by an hour that whole day until someone explained it to me :). Thanks so much for linking the recipe, hope your family liked it!

      • Maura, I just had to come back and leave a follow-up comment. Tried this recipe — LOVED IT! We can’t have peanuts in the house (allergy) and I substituted sunflower seed butter. So good! Thanks for passing it along!

      • I’m SO glad that you all liked it! Thanks for letting me know…and it’s good to know that it works with sunflower butter :) Have you tried Sun Cups before? One of my friends was just talking about those!

      • I haven’t tried Sun Cups (didn’t even know about them!) — are they faux-Reeses peanut butter cups? Because that would be awesome! Thanks for the tip — I’ll start the search now!

  8. Pingback: Welcome to the other side | the thing about joan…

  9. Hi Maura! Welcome back! I’ve missed you…Things have been a bit crazy for me as well so I haven’t been blogging as often as I’d like to. I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying seeing patients again! I’m working closely with pediatricians in my community right now to advocate for childhood obesity prevention, and I always think of you…wishing we were neighbors ;).
    This dip sounds amazing! I am def going to make this for my small group ladies tomorrow!

    I was actually never a night owl so I guess I can’t really help you there. I normally go to bed around 10-11 and wake up around 4:30-5 everyday. I haven’t been able to sleep well lately so it’s more like 11-4. Surprisingly, I’ve been a normal functioning being. I LOVE my mornings. This is the time when my mind is brilliant (or as much as it can be). I have lots of research papers to write from now ’till end of April. I always start the day with a cup of hot water with lemon juice after giving Kona a good morning kiss of course ;). I know I’ve been saying this for awhile now, but I hope to talk to you soon!! Miss you, my dearest friend!

    • Oh my gosh, how fun would it be to collaborate together on fighting childhood obesity?? I SO wish that we lived closer together, friend :)

      Wow, that’s amazing that you can function on so little sleep! And you do so much, I feel like a lazy bum, haha :) Maybe I should try your hot water and lemon juice in the mornings. I hope you start getting some good sleep soon, so you have energy to write those papers! I’ll be praying for a productive month for you!

      I’ve been thinking and praying for you and your father-in-law. How is he doing?

      Miss you terribly!

  10. Yes, she thrives on the variety and fast pace. She has a very composed level personality but I call her a trauma junkie. She watches football for both the game but also for the injuries so she can try to diagnose what the issue is and what the possible treatment will have to be. She also gets giddy over different forms of trauma like heart attacks and is working really hard to learn all she can so she can help the patient. I am in awe of her passion and I hope the goals she has set work out for her. Thank you for your kind words. I am very proud of both of my daughters. ~Thea

    • Wow, the ER sounds like a perfect fit for your daughter, Thea! Has she already done her rotations? It’s funny when you mention watching football, because we often will rewind and watch it happening in slow-motion to diagnose what the injury might be. Med school and residency is such an exciting and at the same time, completely exhausting time…it is wonderful that your daughter has such a supportive mom and family to lean on!

  11. I’m neither a night person or an early-riser. I’m more of an afternoon person, which in one sense is nice. But it also means that I have trouble getting up and I turn into a pumpkin around 11pm. If you find any good tips for getting up early do share. That would make my life way easier! Love this recipe btw, been meaning to try it, but haven’t gotten around to it. Good to hear you give it a thumbs up!

    • Well, so far the only thing that has worked is making sure I go to bed early (for me that means in bed by 9:30 and hopefully asleep by 10), so that I can wake up refreshed at 6 am! I guess being an afternoon person is kind of like everything in moderation, right? :)

Leave a Reply

