Slow Cooker Maple Chicken and Sweet Potatoes

Happy Friday, everyone!  I am so ready for the weekend, are you?

This is a very comforting, fall dish that is made so easily in the slow cooker!  There’s nothing like walking in the door after a long day and smelling something delicious cooking away, and all you have to do is dish it up and enjoy!  I’m really trying to use my slow cooker more often these days.  It makes the evenings (which can sometimes be chaotic) much more relaxed for me.

This recipe is very simple and the flavors are so delicious!  First, you peel and chop your sweet potatoes and carrots.  I was a little nervous about letting Malia help out with this part, but she insisted that she could do it “all by myself, mom!”  She’s been on an “all by myself” kick lately.  We were at a class the other day and I asked her to share with another child, and she said “I want to share, all by myself!”  Not quite how sharing works, honey :)

Place your chicken in the slow cooker.  I used chicken breast, but next time I would use chicken thighs, because they retain more moistness in the slow-cooker.  Drizzle maple syrup over the top.  Sprinkle some smoky cumin and dried, minced onion (or fresh) on top.  Then, add in your peeled and chopped sweet potatoes and carrots.  Add a little salt and pepper.  Then, set it to cook on low for 6 hours.  If you are using chicken breasts, I would recommend checking it at 4 hours, because you don’t want the chicken to get dry.

Don’t you love those vibrant colors?  When it’s done, you will have all those tender potatoes and carrots with that sweet and smoky sauce.  The best part is that the whole meal is in the slow-cooker…protein, starch, and veggies!  Feel free to play around with the seasonings to whatever you like…if you don’t like cumin, you could use chili powder, or just stick with herbs like thyme or rosemary.  Next time, I think I’ll add some thyme in there, I think that would go great with the maple syrup and cumin.  I used cumin that my sister-in-law brought back from Morocco, she brought me some cumin, cinnamon, and a special Morrocan spice blend that is supposed to be great with chicken.  She knows me so well!

I just love sweet potatoes and carrots in the fall…you could even do those on their own and make this as a side dish to bring to a party!  Enjoy!

Slow Cooker Maple Chicken and Sweet Potatoes

Slightly adapted from 5 dollar dinners

1.5 lbs chicken thighs or chicken breast (I recommend thighs)

3 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped

5 carrots, peeled and chopped

3 T maple syrup

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp dried, minced onion (or 1/2 medium red onion, chopped)

1/2 tsp dried thyme or rosemary (optional)

Dash of salt and pepper

Do you have any favorite slow cooker recipes?  I could definitely use more inspiration!

What are your plans for the weekend?

16 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Maple Chicken and Sweet Potatoes

  1. That looks yummy! Unfortunately, none of my kids like sweet potatoes, and they’re not excited about cooked carrots. Weird kids! I have bbq pulled chicken in the slow cooker right now for sandwiches tonight!

    • Yes, we loved it!! I would use chicken thighs, if you do it. I used chicken breast, and while I thought it was fine, Patrick thought it was too tough. It’s hard to cook chicken breast in the slow cooker without it coming out dry!

    • Even my picky daughter ate the sweet potatoes and carrots…maybe it’s because she peeled them herself :) I’m going to make your mac and cheese next week, just added it to our meal plan!

  2. Yup, it’s time to drag my crock pot out — it’s definitely the season, not only for braised things but for feeling like there’s just enough time to get things done at night! I would love to come home to this dinner — looks delicious! =)

  3. Malia’s quip about sharing gave me a good laugh! How cute!

    This sounds like the quintessential fall recipe; I love the medley of flavors, and the fact that everything is thrown into one pot makes it even more appealing! Many of my favorite recipes use the slow cooker, however it’s been gathering dust in my kitchen cabinet for over a year! Thanks for the inspiration to begin using it again. I might try making this for my family while I’m visiting home this week!

    • Sara, my slow cooker was in the closet for a long time too! Then when I started using it again, I realized how convenient it is!! Let me know if you try it for your family :)

      Hope you have a wonderful time with your family and a Happy Thanksgiving!!

  4. Pingback: November Accomplishments & December Ambitions « Inspire & Indulge

Leave a Reply

