Black Bean Brownies

My brother asked me to add some vegan recipes to this blog, so you will probably see some of my experiments with making vegan main dishes soon.  In the meantime, here is a yummy vegan dessert for you, Shaun!  You’ve probably seen recipes on the internet for black bean brownies.  I’ve been a bit of a skeptic of beans and dessert, but I am a convert now!  This recipe comes from Chocolate Covered Katie and uses no flour, no refined sugar, no butter, and no eggs.  And yet, they taste like fudge…amazing!

You will need a food processor to get the right texture, but otherwise the recipe is very simple.  Add a can of black beans, oats, cocoa powder, maple syrup, vanilla extract, coffee, baking powder and salt to the bowl of a food processor and let it go.  I added in the coffee because Ina Garten always says that it enhances the chocolate flavor.  Yes, I love the Barefoot Contessa.  Back to the beans….you will want to get it processed really well, so the black beans are as smooth as possible.  Then stir in the chocolate chips and pour into a greased 8×8 pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 15-20 minutes.

Allow  it to cool for 10 minutes, and then dig in.  I loved how the chocolate chips were still warm and melty from the oven.  The honest truth?  I knew it had black beans in it, and I could taste them on the bites that didn’t have a chocolate chip in them.  You could always add in more chocolate chips to avert this problem.  Otherwise, they were really quite delicious!  I didn’t miss the flour or butter at all.

I served this to my husband and parents in a blind taste test.  The verdict?  They didn’t know the secret ingredient and proclaimed them very fudgy.  That’s exactly how I would describe them…almost more like fudge than brownies, but that’s fine by me :)  My in-laws also loved them!

Black Bean Brownies

slightly adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie

15-oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 cup old fashioned oats (processed fine) or quick oats

3 T cocoa powder (sweetened, I used Ghirardelli)

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

1/4 cup canola or coconut oil

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 tsp strong coffee

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup to 2/3 cup chocolate chips

Process your oats fine if you are using old fashioned oats.  Add in black beans, cocoa powder, maple syrup, oil, vanilla, coffee, baking powder and salt to a food processor fitted with a steel blade.  Process until it is very smooth.  You don’t want to detect bits of black beans if at all possible.  Stir in your chocolate chips.  Pour into a greased 8×8 pan.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes or until set in the middle.  Cool for at least 10 minutes before cutting.  I would put it in the refrigerator and let it set before cutting.  Enjoy!

Do you have any favorite vegan recipes?  Please share!

Please check out these other variations:

Walnut Chocolate Chip Bean Brownie Cake from Butter

Low Fat Vegan Black Bean Brownies from Happy Herbivore

37 thoughts on “Black Bean Brownies

  1. Hey Maura, these look really delicious and moist! They are a much healthier version of black bean brownies than the ones I posted though. Maybe I’ll have to try them! Thanks so much for the link :-)

  2. I’ve never tried making anything like this, but if really does taste chocolately, I need to try it! I always hear Ina in my head telling me to add coffee to chocolate desserts to amp up the chocolate flavor, but I’ve still never tried it. I know it must be true though, if Ina says it is!

    • It really does taste just like chocolate, I think you will like it!!

      I love that you are a fellow Ina fan :) She makes cooking and entertaining seem so easy and fun. I get a little stressed when hosting a party, to be honest…maybe I just need to plan them out more!

  3. Black bean brownies? Really? I would never have thought of this intriguing combination! I absolutely cannot imagine what this must taste like..but I take your word for it! I wanna bake this for my women’s group!

  4. I’ve sean these around, but have been reluctant to try them. I’ve been afraid they wouldnt taste like brownies. I’ll have to give them a go – I have a pot of black beans to use up that I cooked up over the weekend..I’ll let you know how it turns out!

    • Yes, let me know what you think! I used regular cocoa powder like you would use for hot chocolate (not the unsweetened kind). I made it recently with unsweetened cocoa powder and it didn’t come out quite as good.

  5. Pingback: >Black Bean Brownies | Butter

  6. Pingback: Halloween Fun and Pumpkin Brownies! « My Healthy 'Ohana

  7. Pingback: Slow Cooker Black Beans | The Balanced Soul

  8. Pingback: Black Bean Brownies | Butter Baking

Leave a Reply

