Homemade English Muffins

Is there any food that you eat everyday?  In our house, it’s English muffins.  I know, a bit of an oddball choice.  Please don’t judge :)  I’m not sure how we got so addicted to them, but either Patrick or I will eat one for breakfast everyday.  His is always topped with PB and jam or honey, and mine with either PB and banana or cheese.  I used to go to Vons in Las Vegas and buy all of their whole wheat english muffins whenever I would make a shopping trip.  It was a bit embarrassing.  I bet the workers there would see me and think, “she’s baaack…better go get some more english muffins to stock the shelves!” :)

Given how many english muffins I was buying, I figured I better start thinking about making them from scratch.  I read lots of positive reviews about this Alton Brown recipe and decided to give it a try.  Did anyone else use to watch Good Eats?  The nerd in me thinks it is fascinating to learn the science behind cooking, so I’ve always enjoyed his show.  It’s actually one of the few that Patrick can tolerate watching with me :)

You mix the batter together and then place it into these english muffin rings (I bought mine here for $5).  Alton says you can also use tuna cans that have the tops and bottoms taken off, but I couldn’t figure out how to take the bottom off of my tuna cans (perhaps they are made differently now?)  You could also use any kind of baking ring you have on hand, or just eyeball it, it doesn’t have to be perfect.

These english muffins are incredibly soft and tender.  They have those nooks and crannies that everyone always associates with english muffins, and were delicious topped with butter and jam warm out of the skillet :)  My only complaint was that they didn’t rise very much, so I’m going to be trying out a totally different recipe in the near future (once I can get my hands on bread flour) and will get back to you as to which was the winner!

Homemade English Muffins

From Alton Brown

  • 1/2 cup non-fat powdered milk
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon shortening
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 envelope dry yeast
  • 1/8 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/3 cup warm water
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted

In a bowl, mix together powdered milk, sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, and shortening.  Add in hot water and mix until all ingredients are dissolved.  In a separate bowl, mix yeast, warm water and sugar.  Allow it to sit for 5-10 minutes to allow the yeast to bloom.  Combine the two mixtures and then mix in the sifted flour.  Allow it to rest, covered with a dish towel for about 30 minutes.  Heat griddle or skillet to 300 degrees F.  Spray or grease muffin rings and place 1/4 cup of the dough into each ring.  Cover with a lid or cookie sheet and allow to cook for 5-6 minutes.  Flip rings over and cook covered for another 5-6 minutes.  Remove and allow to cool on a wire rack.

Are there any foods that you could eat everyday?  

22 thoughts on “Homemade English Muffins

  1. wooo, you are so brave trying to make English muffins, they are not easy at all! good job!
    I need to switch food once in a while, otherwise I get bored. one food that I’ve been eating everyday for the last 1-2 months is peaches! they are sooooo delicious.

  2. I never thought I’d try a recipe that included yeast in it (bread-making isn’t really my thing) but you may have just changed my mind! I love english muffins and I never realized how easy they are to make. I enjoy the science behind cooking, too, and LOVE all those old Good Eats episodes!

    • I was totally intimidated by yeast too, until about 3 months ago when I started experimenting and realized it’s actually not that hard to work with! And the results are great…fresh bread baking in the oven is just amazing :)

      Yes, those old Good Eats episodes are fun to watch!!

  3. Here’s something you could try to get that yeast to rise better. Instead of letting your flour/yeast mixture sit at room temperature for 30 mins, turn your oven to any temperature for about 30 sec, then turn it right off after the 30 seconds is up. Then turn on the oven light. The quick 30 seconds is just enough to take the chill out of the air and the oven light creates just enough heat to act as a nice incubator. Cover your flour and yeast mixture and place it in your oven. It’s a tip I adapted from my yogurt making. I tried it when I wanted to make breadsticks and it worked really well. Good luck!

  4. Pingback: Freshly Pressed! « My Healthy 'Ohana

  5. Thank you for the recipe! I love muffins and haven’t had them in a long time. I didn’t know you can make them without an oven. As I don’t have an oven at home I can still make them!

  6. Pingback: A twist on the English muffin and chicken | Yummy Lummy

  7. Pingback: Homemade Cashew Butter « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

