Scrambled eggs in the microwave?

20120611-083031.jpg

Since all of our things are in boxes now, I am finding creative new ways to cook with just a microwave, a Tupperware, and plastic spoons :). I was craving eggs, and found a website that said they could be cooked in the microwave! I simply whipped up 4 eggs, 4 tablespoons of milk, some salt and pepper in a Tupperware and cooked it on high for about 3-4 minutes. I stirred it halfway through and again in 30 second intervals during the last minute of cooking. The result? Light, fluffy, perfectly scrambled eggs!! I was skeptical initially that this would work, but I honestly prefer these results to making them in a pan, especially if you are in a hurry. Topped with cheese, salsa and wrapped up in a whole wheat flatbread, this was a satisfying breakfast for the long day of packing ahead :). Hope you all are having a great Monday!

17 thoughts on “Scrambled eggs in the microwave?

  1. I tried an egg in the microwave once and totally forgot about how easy it is! Perfect for a quick, protein packed breakfast on a busy morning.
    Happy packing, Maura!

  2. Amritz makes breakfast this way all the time for early mornings at work. :) Good luck packing, Maura! Can’t believe your move is coming up so quickly!!

  3. Next time try adding just a dash of nutmeg along with the salt and pepper. Of course it won’t go with salsa and cheese, but if you normally eat them plain if gives them a little more dimension. Goes well with sausage!

    • Thanks Colleen, I’ll definitely try that next time! I’ve been thinking of getting fresh nutmeg and grating it myself because someone had told me it makes a huge difference in terms of flavor.

  4. I did not know you can cook eggs in the microwave!! I’ve been wanting to cook eggs at work for breakfast and there is only a microwave unless I want to buy it at the cafeteria. Meh. Great post!!

Leave a Reply

