Hawaiian Sweet Bread Pudding

Bread pudding is hands down one of my favorite desserts!  If it’s on a dessert menu, I rarely pass it up :)  There’s nothing more comforting than the warm, custardy bread with fruit or chocolate chips mixed in, and topped with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.  I’ve been making this bread pudding for many years…this is one of those dishes where people ask for the recipe after you make it :)

Have you had King’s Hawaiian Sweet Bread before?  It’s available in most grocery stores these days, and I love the texture and sweet flavor.  Take a 16 oz loaf and tear it into smaller pieces, and put it in your greased pan.  I wanted to make two different flavors, so I split the bread in between a 9×13 pan and an 8×8 pan, but you will not get quite as thick of a bread pudding if you do this.  The original recipe is to put all the bread in a 9×13 pan.

In one pan, I added three mashed bananas, and in the other I added frozen mixed berries (strawberries, blackberries, blueberries and raspberries).

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine 5 cups of milk, 1 cup of sugar, and 1/2 stick of butter and mix until the sugar has dissolved and the butter has melted.  Beat 5 eggs and whisk slowly into your warm milk mixture.  You can temper the eggs by adding a little bit of the warm milk mixture to the eggs before adding the whole amount to the pan.  This will help prevent the eggs from scrambling.  Lastly, add in a teaspoon of vanilla extract and remove from the heat.

Pour the milk mixture onto the bread, making sure all the bread pieces soak up the liquid.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 60 minutes or until custard is set.  It will become perfectly puffed and golden with a soft custard texture.

Serve warm topped with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream :)  You can certainly change the mix-ins to whatever you like the best…it’s great with chocolate chips or peanut butter chips!

Hawaiian Sweet Bread Pudding

16 oz loaf King’s Hawaiian Sweet Bread, broken into pieces

5 cups 1% milk

1/2 stick butter

1 cup sugar

5 eggs, beaten

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

Mix-ins of your choice: bananas, berries, chocolate chips

Spread your sweet bread pieces in a greased 9×13 pan.  Top with mix-ins of your choice, here I used bananas and berries.  In a saucepan, heat milk, butter and sugar over medium heat until sugar is dissolved and butter is melted.  Add in beaten eggs slowly, whisking the whole time to prevent scrambling.  You can also temper your eggs by adding a little of the warm milk mixture to the eggs before whisking in.  Add vanilla extract and take saucepan off the heat.  Pour custard mixture over the bread, making sure that all the bread pieces soak up the custard.  Top with cinnamon.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 60 minutes, until puffed and golden and custard is set.  Enjoy with vanilla ice cream!

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

What are your all-time favorite desserts?

I’m a bread pudding and strawberry shortcake fan :)

21 thoughts on “Hawaiian Sweet Bread Pudding

  1. Yum! Sometimes we eat that Hawaiian bread with spinach dip. I hadn’t thought about using it for bread pudding. What a great idea!

    One of my favorite desserts is fried ice cream. We get it at this local Mexican restaurant and it’s sooooo good!

  2. Hi Maura! I stumbled upon your blog somehow, and it’s really cute! I know it’s kind of late but congrats on your second baby!! how exciting!!
    and by your choice of dessert, I like you already =) hands down my fav is bread pudding as well oh and it must be a la mode! I go to this particular steak house (I can pass the meat) with my husband just so I can fill my tummy with that warm, gooey, scrumptious pudding! it has some rum in it which adds that extra flare =)
    oh and Hawaiian sweet bread is so good by itself too isn’t it? at my old church we used to use it for the communion..and yes I am guilty of getting greedy and tearing up a huge piece for myself every time. Jesus forgive me..but it’s so darn good =)

    • Hi Min! I am so glad you commented on my blog so that I could find yours! I will be praying for you on your road to recovery, and as you and your husband try to conceive a child :) It definitely took us a while to get pregnant, and it was an exercise in giving up control to God and letting Him lead us, instead of the other way around! He has been faithful to us through many ups and downs, and for us, it is often during our struggles that we realize how much we need to put our full trust and faith in Him!

      I’m so glad to find a fellow bread pudding and Hawaiian sweet bread lover :) Your old church had the right idea…our old church used to have fresh homemade bread every Sunday and whoever served communion got to take home the leftover bread…it was always a treat when we got to take it home!

  3. This looks heavenly!!
    I’ve actually never had bread pudding, but this looks like the perfect way to try it – with lots of berries!
    I am with you on strawberry shortcake – so good! But I only like it when it’s made with the bisquick mix :-)

  4. You make it look so easy Maura! The real hard question for me is how do you find the time and energy to make all this yummy food?

  5. i love a good cookie, myself. that’s my weakness. chocolate chip or snickerdoodles are my cryptonite. and i thought i should mention, we made a version of loco moco the other night with the leftover gravy we had from our porkchops and it reminded me of you! :)

  6. I’ve never even had bread pudding! Something about it sounds so odd to me… almost like it’ll be soggy or something? I’ll have to give it a shot! :)

  7. I LOVE bread pudding and Hawaiian sweet bread. I’ve never tried making my own before but one of these days I’ll get off my lazy butt and give this recipe a try! :) Thanks for sharing!

  8. Pingback: Freshly Pressed! « My Healthy 'Ohana

  9. Pingback: Merry Christmas Eve and Christmas brunch ideas! « My Healthy 'Ohana

    • Yay, let me know how it turns out! The one I made at our house had 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree added to the warm milk mixture. If you put it all in one 9×13 pan, sometimes it takes a while to bake…I’ve had to bake it for as long as 1.5 hours before to get the inside fully cooked. Just keep testing it and allow enough time for when you want to serve it :)

Leave a Reply

