Cinnamon Sugar Pancake Muffins

I’ve been a proud mama and wife this week :)  Little sweetie did a great job at her first dentist visit.  She really seemed to enjoy having her teeth cleaned by the hygienist, and having her teeth counted by the dentist!  Best of all, there were no cavities!

Also, our hot water heater broke last week Thursday, and no one from our home protection plan could come out until this week Tuesday because of the holiday weekend.  Luckily, we were able to find other options for showering over the weekend, otherwise I would have pitied those who had to be around us :)  I anxiously awaited the plumber’s arrival on Tuesday, only to have him tell me within the first five minutes that he couldn’t touch the heater because it was made by Kenmore, and that is exclusively handled by Sears.  Why didn’t someone ask us who made our heater last week Thursday??  We were told that we still needed to pay the $60 fee for him to come out, and that we needed to call Sears (who wanted to charge us $90 to come out and look at it).  It was under warranty, but we still needed to pay for labor.  At this point, when I was starting to get really stressed, my husband came home and started calling around.  He found out that if he took the water heater himself to Sears, they would give him a new one for free and he could install it himself without voiding the warranty!  With the help of my father-in-law, they were able to get the new heater, install it within 3 hours, and we had hot water for showers the next morning!  I am so proud of my husband for being so resourceful and handy, something I never could have done!

On to the muffins!  I’ve been craving cinnamon sugar cupcakes or muffins ever since I had an amazing cinnamon sugar buttermilk spice cupcake from Sprinkles in Chicago!  When I saw Reini Days post this recipe for pancake muffins, I thought I would combine the best of both worlds…a buttermilk pancake muffin brushed with extra butter and maple syrup, then topped with cinnamon sugar :)  Have you checked out Reini Days?  She has a great blog with delicious recipes that are family-friendly!

These pancake muffins couldn’t be simpler to prepare.  Just mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and sugar.  In a measuring cup, add buttermilk, one egg, vanilla extract, and maple syrup.  Mix wet into dry and stir to combine.  Line your muffin pan and pour your batter in.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 15-20 minutes.

While they’re still warm, brush the tops with a little more melted butter mixed with some maple syrup, and then top with cinnamon sugar.  Mmm…I love the richness and crunch that this topping gives to this muffin!  You could always add in things that you love…I’m going to try blueberries or chopped bananas next time.

These are perfect for a Sunday morning breakfast, or if you need something portable to take with you in the morning.  The muffin is super moist with a hint of maple syrup, and the topping with butter and cinnamon sugar really takes it over the top :)  It’s also very healthy, less than 100 calories per muffin!  My little sweetie ate 3 of these in a row, she loved them so much!

Cinnamon Sugar Pancake Muffins

Adapted from Reini Days

1 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

2 T sugar

2/3 cup buttermilk

1 egg

2 T pure maple syrup

1 T butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla extract

For topping:

extra maple syrup and melted butter for brushing tops

2 T sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a 12 cup muffin pan.  Mix together flour through sugar in one bowl.  Mix together buttermilk to melted butter in another bowl.  Combine wet into dry ingredients, and mix to combine.  Pour into muffin pan and bake for 15-20 minutes.  While still warm, brush the tops with extra melted butter and maple syrup, then sprinkle them with cinnamon sugar mixture.  Enjoy!

Do you have any favorite portable breakfasts?

20 thoughts on “Cinnamon Sugar Pancake Muffins

    • I was kind of expecting the worst too, but I think those pediatric offices do a great job of making the child feel really comfortable…they let Malia pick out what toothpaste she wanted for the cleaning, gave her gloves to wear, let her push the button on the toothbrush. And of course there’s toys at the end :)

  1. I LOVE the sound of these muffins! They’re the perfect combo. And I love that the Little Peanut is wearing gloves while she gets her teeth cleaned! So precious!!!

  2. I’m so glad you started this blog so that we can keep up with your adventures in Hawaii!

    Repair and warranty issues are such a pain– glad you ended up with a good outcome! Those muffins look heavenly– I’ll have to give them a try soon!

  3. Pancake muffins? Yes, please I would love to have one!! I keep saying this all the time, but your daughter is very, very cute!! :) By the way your site looks kind of funky, all the next is to the right and the Welcome! stuff is at the end of the post!

  4. I made these this morning between feeding the dogs and taking a shower. Great recipe! Even though there’s not much butter in here the flavor is SO buttery! I didn’t have buttermilk, so I just used regular milk with a splash of vinegar. I would love to compare to true buttermilk ones, but with the “sour milk” they were dangerously delicious. I’ve already had 4 this morning. Thanks for sharing.

    • I’m so glad you liked them!! Love that you made your own buttermilk too :)

      Did you say “dogs”?? We need to catch up sometime soon! I was so excited to hear you’re thinking about coming to Hawaii, that would be amazing!!

Leave a Reply

