Homemade French Bread

I am officially hooked on making my own homemade bread!  There’s nothing like kneading the dough, inhaling the yeasty fragrance, and then watching it rise and bake up so beautifully in the oven.  The best part is eating it of course, and there’s so much satisfaction in eating fresh bread that you made from scratch.  I was always scared of using yeast in the past, but since making pizza dough turned out so well, I decided to look for some more recipes.  This one from Simply Scratch is just perfection!  Crispy exterior with a pillowy soft, chewy interior.  We couldn’t wait to slather this with butter and eat it just on its own.   There are only four ingredients to this recipe: flour, kosher salt, yeast, and warm water.  Add one packet of instant yeast to one cup of warm water and allow it to bloom for 10 minutes.  Then add 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour and 3/4 tsp of kosher salt.  Mix together with a spatula.  You can then either turn onto a floured surface and knead the dough for about 5 minutes until smooth and elastic, or you can use your mixer with the dough hook attachment.  I don’t have a mixer with a dough hook, so I did it the old fashioned way :)

Place your dough in an oiled bowl, cover with a clean kitchen towel, and allow it to rise for an hour, or until approximately doubled in size.

Then, punch it down and form it into a log-shape.  Place in a cool oven and then turn your oven to preheat at 375 degrees.  Allow it to bake in this oven for 30-35 minutes, or until the bread sounds hollow when you tap it.

You can use this for lots of things.  Simply Scratch makes her into french bread pizzas (yum), here I slathered them with butter and topped it with scrambled eggs and cheese for a delicious breakfast :)

See all those beautiful holes in the bread?  It’s best served warm right out of the oven, but it also makes a great snack with butter and fresh strawberry jam the next day :)

What’s your favorite thing to make from scratch?  

So far, for me, it’s been breads and jams.  I haven’t tried making my own pasta yet.

17 thoughts on “Homemade French Bread

  1. Oooh, yummy! Love homemade bread. I just made up some pizza dough for tomorrow.

    I love to make whatever I can homemade: breads, muffins, cookies, and lately: crackers. :)

  2. I LLLLOVE making bread. The smell and the anticipation while it rises and bakes… heavenly! This sounds so easy, too. Sounds like a good idea for the weekend ahead :)

  3. Oh my gosh your photos are making me sooo hungry!! I love anything with bread, cheese and eggs is a favorite combo for breakfast. I think i might have to give this one a shot. I’ve been reading other food blogs and there is just too much stuff on my to do list. It’s killing me, haha ;) beautiful photos too by the way

  4. Pingback: Homemade Cashew Butter « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

