Grilled Chicken with Pineapple Corn Salsa

I feel like we’ve flown directly into summer here, with highs in Las Vegas at 100 all week!  Where did spring go?  With the high temps, we’re doing more grilling outdoors and this dinner was a winner.  The flavors in here are amazing and so fresh…plus, I just can’t get enough grilled corn on the cob :)

 

The chicken thighs are rubbed with garlic powder, cumin, salt and pepper.  I think cumin is one of my favorite spices, it gives the meat a nice smoky flavor.  Place on your grill or pan and cook until done.  I was multi-tasking with the grill here and asked my husband to grill a pork tenderloin for tomorrow night’s dinner :)  We love the marinated pork tenderloins from our local supermarket, it’s so easy and the tenderloin is a nice, lean cut.  Well, you guys know my obsession with pork!

 

In the meantime, prepare your pineapple corn salsa.   I used canned pineapple in my recipe, but I would totally recommend using fresh pineapple if you can.  Even better, grill a fresh pineapple and save some for dessert topped with some ice cream.  I’m thinking of going out and buying a pineapple right now ;)  One of the things we are looking forward to when we move to Hawaii this summer is all the fresh pineapple we can eat!

 

Grill your corn for a few minutes and then when cool, cut it off the cob.  Add in red pepper, basil or cilantro, lime juice, red onion, salt, vinegar, and sugar.  Toss and let the flavors meld either at room temperature or in the refrigerator.  You can adapt this salsa however you like!  I topped mine with avocado.  Next time, I think I’ll add some black beans in there for some extra protein and maybe some finely diced jalapeño for a spicy kick!  The only thing that would make it better is an ice cold beer, but I’ll have to wait 3 more months for that :)

Grilled Chicken Thighs with Pineapple Corn Salsa

Adapted from Cooking Light

Serves 2

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

2-3 skinless, boneless chicken thighs (about 3/4 pound)

2 cups cubed fresh pineapple

1/2 cup fresh corn kernels (about 1 ear)

1/3 cup finely chopped red bell pepper

1/4 cup thinly sliced fresh basil or cilantro

1/2 lime, juiced

3 tablespoons finely chopped red onion (optional)

1/4 tsp salt

1 tablespoon rice vinegar or cider vinegar

1 teaspoon sugar

1 avocado, cubed

7 thoughts on “Grilled Chicken with Pineapple Corn Salsa

Leave a Reply

