Simple Pleasures – Caprese Sandwich

After traveling two weekends in a row, I’m so happy to be home and sleeping in my own bed!  We were also eating out a lot more than usual, which was great at the time, but I’m happy to be back in the kitchen and eating simple, healthy meals.  My daughter and I planted a basil plant in our yard this morning and it inspired this tomato, basil and mozzarella sandwich.

 

Simply take your favorite bread (in this case I used whole wheat) and top with sliced vine-ripened tomatoes, salt and pepper, basil leaves, mozzarella, and a drizzle of good balsamic vinegar.  My favorite balsamic vinegar is this one from DiBruno Bros in Philadelphia.  It’s aged for 12 years, and has an incredible flavor!  This sandwich would be great on a toasted Italian bread drizzled with olive oil too!  It’s the simple things in life that make me happy, and fresh herbs from our garden is one of them!  Here’s my little gardener :)

 

Hope you’re having a great start to your week!!

Are you planting a garden this year?  If so, what are you planting?

12 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures – Caprese Sandwich

  1. Sometimes simple is the best. What a little cutie you have there! I love when kids wear sunglasses. Too funny.

    I really would love to have a small garden, but I don’t have much of a green thumb so we’ll see…

  2. I have a garden full of eggplant, tomato, and 1 pineapple plant. Looking forward to starting some lettuce, bean sprouts and another avacado tree! Any advice? We had some success with a pineapple plant in Vegas, but it will take about 2 years before it will fruit. If you have space after your move to Hawaii, a pineapple plant would be a fun way to test out your garden. All you do is chop off the top of a ripe pineapple and plant it 1-2 in deep so that the leafy top can capture lots of sunlight. If you do multiple plants, space them 5 feet apart.

    • Wow, that sounds like an amazing garden!! Did you start your avocado tree from seed? I’m actually a terrible gardener, but herbs seem to do well in Las Vegas, so that’s what I’ve been sticking to. Do you have room in your garden for some herbs? I’m looking forward to your mom’s apricot tree starting to fruit :)

      Thanks for the advice on planting a pineapple plant! My dad actually did that when we were kids and you’re right, it takes several years to fruit. We also had a papaya tree, banana tree, lychee, tangerines, strawberry guavas, lemons and limes. I’m looking forward to doing a bit more gardening once we move!

      • Ok I would have loved to live at your house growing up. Fresh fruit all the time – yum! The avocado tree we DID start from a pit. It’s so fun to have watched it root and then stem and finally to grow leaves. It’s just sitting in my kitchen now. I’ll have to plant it soon.

  3. Hi Maura! Your blog is so fun, glad to peak in on you guys once in awhile. I didn’t know we had this in common, a love for creating great meals! This year Ryan built a modest raised plant bed, but didn’t realize he needed to label everything:) We have no idea what is actually coming up right now, but it looks like corn, heirloom tomatoes, carnival peppers (it was a mix of multi-colored peppers), cantaloupe and hopefully some bib lettuce. I’m also trying my hand at herbs, sage and cilantro, but they don’t seem to be fairing well in my windowsill. You had some amazing fruit trees growing up. Growing up my mom grew grapes, apples, peaches, pears, and blackberries, and had a garden that was so abundant. I, unfortunately, did not absorb enough of her green thumb!

    Keep up the lovely cooking, you’re making me hungry…

    • Angie, your garden sounds amazing!! Keep me posted on what grows :) I love heirloom tomatoes. I may ask Ryan for some tips, because I’m thinking of creating a raised plant bed when we move.

      Wow, your mom sounds like a great gardener! There’s something about fresh fruit picked off the tree, it’s just so amazing. Wish I had a green thumb, mine is more like a black thumb, but I’m working on it :)

      Glad we can keep in touch his way! Much love to your kids, we just saw pictures from your Disneyworld trip, they must have had so much fun!!

Leave a Reply

