Mochiko Chicken

I’m feeling a little under the weather today :(  Ever since I got pregnant, I seem to get every cold that Malia comes home with.  She’s not sick (thank goodness), so I must have caught this one at work.  Hoping that lots of citrus and some rest will do the trick since we are traveling to Chicago this weekend for a wedding!

This is a recipe for Hawaiian/Japanese style chicken, that I’ve loved since I was little.  It’s a local favorite in Hawaii to take to a potluck or picnic, and I think it’s perfect on the grill in the summer!  Even more perfect is if you cook it on a hibachi at the beach and enjoy it with friends and family :)

 

Mochiko is a Japanese rice flour, and you can usually find it in the Asian section of your grocery store.  Rice flour is gluten free and I have seen it more frequently in the store as it gains in popularity.

 

To make this recipe, marinate chicken thighs or breasts overnight in a mixture of mochiko, cornstarch, soy sauce, sugar, garlic, ginger, eggs, and green onion.  I put everything in a Ziploc bag and keep it in the fridge overnight.

 

The next day, simply heat up your grill or pan, and cook your chicken until golden brown on both sides.  Traditionally, you fry the chicken in 1 inch of hot oil, but I did it in my cast iron skillet, and it didn’t need any additional oil.

 

Raw chicken is never going to be photogenic, is it?  This is much better :)

Your whole house will smell amazing when you cook up this chicken!  When my husband walked in, the first thing he said was how great it smelled.  I love these asian flavors, and the marinade with the flours and eggs create a really nice crust.  The other nice thing about this recipe is you can serve it either hot or cold.    In Hawaii, you’d eat this with white rice and macaroni salad, there’s nothing better.  Hope you give this one a try!!

Mochiko Chicken

2 pounds chicken thighs or chicken breast

1/4 cup mochiko

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/4 cup sugar

5 T soy sauce

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon grated ginger

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs, beaten

1/4 cup thinly sliced green onion

Sprinkle of sesame seeds (optional)

Mix together all ingredients in ziploc bag.  Add chicken and marinate in the fridge overnight.  Grill or pan fry until golden brown on both sides and cooked all the way through.  Serve hot or cold.

Do you have any local favorite recipes or ones that remind you of your home?  Please share!  Also, if you have any brunch recommendations in Chicago, please share those too!!

21 thoughts on “Mochiko Chicken

  1. Hope you feel better soon! Stinks to be sick, especially when you have to travel soon.

    This dish looks really good. I haven’t heard of mochiko before, but I’ll have to give it a try!

  2. Glad that I visted your blog and learn something about mochiko.

    I can imagine the yumminess of this dish and hope that it will make your pregnancy sickness slowly disappear…

  3. So many good things in Chicago!

    When I lived there Ann Sather was the place to be for brunch. It’s kind of cramped inside, but the cinnamon rolls were so good! If I were to go again, I think I would just order a couple cinnamon rolls to go and then enjoy one outside at one of the neighborhood benches.

    If you are a coffee drinker, I would emfatically recommend Intelligensia coffee. I still crave this coffee.

    If you are looking for a great sandwhich shop, I would definitely recommend Deli Boutique on Clark just next to Lincoln Park Zoo. They have great hot and cold sandwiches. I used to buy one, tote it back to the zoo and the eat overlooking the lions and African wild dogs.

    These are all Lakeview/Lincoln Park recommendations. As you probably know, every Chicago neighborhood has such good food, so there’s really no need to travel around much.

    • Thanks, Colleen! I love your recommendations. I remember Ann Sather’s cinnamon rolls, so good! WIsh we had more time in the city, I miss it as I’m sure you do too. Maybe we’ll try Deli Boutique since I have a friend who lives in Lincoln Park that I wanted to visit :)

  4. Lovely recipe, Maura. I still have mochiko which I used for making native Philippine desserts. Never ever thought that it will go well with a chicken dish so this is a must-try. Thanks for sharing. ;-)

    • I would use boneless skinless thighs, but you can use chicken breast too! I’ve done it before with chicken breast and the flavor is still really good, the meat is just not quite as moist. The traditional way of doing it is frying, but I wanted to make it a bit healthier by just using a little bit of oil in the pan. I’m so excited you are trying this, it’s a Hawaii staple!! Let me know how it turns out :)

  5. Pingback: Let’s Try Something Different « Blowing off Steam…and Other Cooking Adventures

  6. Pingback: It’s Menu Time Again, With Some Reviews on the Side! « Blowing off Steam…and Other Cooking Adventures

Leave a Reply

