Decadent Monday – Flour Bakery’s Banana Bread

We visited Boston in the fall to see friends, visit with my younger brother, and go to a Boston Red Sox game.  I remembered watching a Food Network episode of “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” where Bobby Flay professed his love for Flour Bakery’s sticky buns.  He made them look so delicious, that we had to try them for ourselves.  They are truly amazing, as was their chocolate covered banana bread pudding!

The owner of Flour, Joanne Chang, studied Applied Mathematics at Harvard, but left that career to go into baking.  I always find it interesting when people switch careers so drastically, like Ina Garten working as a nuclear policy analyst in the White House until she decided to purchase a specialty food store called Barefoot Contessa on a whim, and became who she is today!

I was excited to see that the recipes for both Flour’s Sticky Buns and Banana Bread can be found online on Food Network’s website!

The recipe is fairly simple.  You start by whisking 2 eggs together with 1 cup + 2T of sugar for about 10 minutes until light and fluffy.

Then you add in mashed bananas, sour cream, vanilla extract, and oil.  Sift together your dry ingredients: flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Add the dry to the wet and mix until just combined.  Then pour into your greased pans.  The original recipe says to use a loaf pan, but comments on the food network recipe say that it is better to do it in a bundt pan.  I used my mini-loaf pans, and had enough batter leftover to make 4 muffins.  I imagine you could make about 20-24 small muffins if you wanted.

 

This banana bread is so light and fluffy, Patrick commented that it’s almost more like a cake.  The original recipe called for chopped walnuts, but I’m not really a fan of nuts in my baked goods, so I omitted them.  You could add those in or substitute chocolate chips or butterscotch chips!  My daughter loved the muffin form :)  Perfect for breakfast, snacks, or dessert!

Flour Bakery’s Banana Bread

Recipe available on Food Network

  • 1 2/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 3 1/2 bananas, very ripe, mashed
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease your loaf pan, bundt pan or line muffin pans.  Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Whisk sugar and eggs together until light and fluffy, about 10 minutes. Drizzle in oil. Add mashed bananas, sour cream, and vanilla. Mix in dry ingredients until just combined. Bake 25-30 minutes for mini-loaf pans, 50 minutes for bundt pan, 20 min for muffins or until toothpick comes out clean.

What are some of your favorite foodie travel finds? 

6 thoughts on “Decadent Monday – Flour Bakery’s Banana Bread

  1. Sour cream is tough to find here. The stores never order enough of it. I’m thinking I might sub-in two tsp of plain yogurt for a healthier twist. Any reasons that you can think of why I shouldn’t?
    PS…Malia is soooo cute!

    • Colleen, the original recipe called for creme fraiche or sour cream, but I love the idea of using plain yogurt. Maybe strain it a little bit beforehand, so it has a thicker consistency? I was just thinking about you today and missing you!!

  2. Wait. How have I just found this? I LOVE banana bread and am always on the search for my most ideal banana bread…and this looks like a certain possibility. Definitely pinning to my banana bread pin board! (Of course it has to be a separate board!)

Leave a Reply

