Grilled Hoisin Glazed Pork Tenderloin

This was a husband-approved recipe, he said the best one yet of my grilling recipes :)  The pork marinates overnight so it’s packed with delicious flavors and nothing beats that smokiness and nice char on the outside from the grill.  I really love pork…I think it might actually be my favorite protein!  I’m always surprised by how flavorful and lean it can be, in pork tenderloin and pork chops.  I’m like a commercial for “the other white meat” :)

 

This recipe comes from Prevention RD, a great website for healthy recipes.  Marinate your pork tenderloin overnight in a Ziploc bag with hoisin sauce, ketchup, sesame oil, garlic, ginger, sugar and salt, so it develops all these wonderful flavors.  Massage the marinade around the pork so it’s completely covered and keep in the refrigerator overnight.  The next day, simply heat up your grill, remove the pork from the marinade, and place on the grill!

We did ours alongside some Trader Joe’s sweet apple chicken sausages.  I can’t say it’s my favorite Trader Joe’s sausage, as there is quite a bit of cinnamon in there, reminiscent to me of apple pie.  Apple pie + chicken = a weird combo.  My husband and daughter liked them though, so try it if you like sweet sausages or cinnamon.

 

After about 7-9 minutes on one side, turn the pork over and cook until internal temperature reaches about 160 degrees.  We just got this instant (6 second) read thermometer, so that we can check the internal temperature of our meats, and it worked really well!  Allow the pork to rest for at least 10 minutes before slicing, to allow the juices to redistribute.

 

Isn’t that just beautiful?  It’s so tender and lean, and we were literally mopping up the juices, they were so good!  Cut into slices and serve with your favorite side.  I think a nice fruity salsa would go great in the summertime.  I served mine with roasted potato wedges and roasted broccoli.  The potato wedges are simply russet potatoes, rubbed with olive oil, salt and pepper, then roasted in a 425 degree F oven for about 20-30 minutes, turning once.

 

Grilled Hoisin Glazed Pork Tenderloin

Slightly adapted from Prevention RD

Serves 4

1 pound pork tenderloin

1/4 cup sugar

2 Tbsp hoisin sauce

2 Tbsp ketchup

1 tsp salt

1 Tbsp sesame oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp fresh grated ginger

Mix all ingredients in a large Ziploc bag and massage into the pork.  Marinate in the fridge for 12-24 hours.  Heat grill to medium heat.  Grill tenderloin on each side, about 7-9 minutes, or until internal temperature reaches 160 degrees.  Allow to rest for 10 minutes before slicing.  Enjoy!

Nutrition Info:  Serving: 1/4 of recipe, Calories: 270, Fat: 7.7g, Carbs: 18.7g, Protein: 30.2g

What are some of your favorite grilling recipes?

4 thoughts on “Grilled Hoisin Glazed Pork Tenderloin

  1. Yum! I love pork tenderloin, and surprisingly I only started cooking it this past year. I don’t know where I’ve been all this time!

    I have to go back to a classic cheeseburger as one of my favs when it comes to grilling. It’s hard to beat the smell of that when it’s cooking. mmm…

  2. Wow! Great idea for marinade. I still have unused hoisin sauce and I don’t know what to do with it. This grilled pork tenderloin is perfect and I am sure that my husband will approve just like yours. ;-)

Leave a Reply

