Banana Bread Snack Cake

Good morning!  Before I head off to work, I wanted to send you all this snack cake that has been breakfast,snacks and dessert for the past two days :)  I love that it’s decadent tasting, but super healthy.  It’s only 150 calories per piece and loaded with fresh bananas.

This recipe comes from one of my favorite blogs, How Sweet It Is.  I absolutely love her recipes, and this one is a healthy alternative to a typical banana cake.  It’s also really simple.  Start by whisking brown sugar into one egg until smooth, then add in bananas and vanilla extract.

Next add your dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Then add your melted butter and pour into a greased 8×8 pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 min or until tester comes out clean.

Try to wait until it cools before slicing…don’t be like me :)  The whole house smelled great!

It’s so good, and even better the next day!  Try it out and visit How Sweet It Is for even more great recipes.

Banana Bread Snack Cake

1 egg

1/3 cup brown sugar

3 bananas, mashed

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup flour (all purpose or whole wheat pastry flour)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Dash nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

3 T unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Whisk brown sugar and egg together.  Add mashed bananas and vanilla extract.  Mix in dry ingredients (flour through salt).  Add in melted butter and mix to combine.  Pour into a greased 8×8 pan and bake at 350 degrees F for 25-30 min or until a cake tester comes out clean.

Nutrition Information:

Serving size: 1 piece (1/9th of cake)

Calories: 150, Total fat: 4.6 g, Carbs: 25.4 g, Fiber: 1.5 g, Protein: 2.5 g

8 thoughts on “Banana Bread Snack Cake

  1. Banana cake is always a nice way to save overripe bananas. Lovely recipe! I’ll try yours because mine is without cinnamon and nutmeg. ;-)

  2. Maura, Thank you for sharing your blog. I love the mix of hearing how you and Malia are doing and the recipes. I was searching for a banana bread recipe without the mixer (it seems like so much work to drag it out), I’m going to try yours. Banana bread is my favorite. Looking forward to reading more once you transition to Hawaii and baby boy comes along too. What a nice way to stay in touch with friends and loved ones. Wishing I could be there tomorrow to celebrate you.

    • Theresa, I totally agree, I never like to get my mixer out so I’m always on the lookout for recipes that only require mixing by hand :) Plus, Malia really loves to be my mixer! Does Garrett like to help you in the kitchen? So happy we can keep in touch this way too!!

Leave a Reply

