One Ingredient Banana “Ice Cream”

Since the weather is warming up here in Las Vegas (and hopefully where you are too!), I thought I’d post a nice cool, refreshing and healthy treat.  I first saw this “ice cream” on Iowa Girl Eats, one of my favorite blogs.  I was a little skeptical that you could make ice cream with just a frozen banana, but decided to give it a try.  The result is unexpectedly creamy, light and custardy, and you can feel good that it only contains one ingredient, bananas!  We always have bananas in our freezer that are past their prime (perfect for this recipe or for banana bread).  Take your bananas and place them in the food processor.  Then turn it on and let it whip!  It will take a few minutes to get really creamy, so keep going until it looks like this!

It’s so simple and really light and delicious!  Eat it as is or mix in your favorite toppings :)  I love eating ice cream out of a cone, so that’s what I did.

 

It’s a perfect recipe for the kids…mom and daughter approved :)

 

What are some of your favorite warm weather treats?

6 thoughts on “One Ingredient Banana “Ice Cream”

  1. I can’t wait to try this! We host people a lot for dinner parties, and I’m thinking this would be a great, simple and healthy desert to try next time. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

