Food Memories – Guacamole

 

Who doesn’t love guacamole?  That creamy, spicy, salty treat…on top of tacos/burgers or just by itself with some Tostitos Hint of Lime Chips.  It’s a favorite in our house.  I didn’t actually start liking avocados until college, and now I’m addicted!  A good friend of ours started making this amazing guacamole for us when we lived in Philadelphia.  We would offer to grill up burgers and brats, and he would provide the guac and chips.  It was more than a fair trade!  Whenever I make this guacamole, I think of those great friends and those fun summer nights :)

Start out with ripe Haas avocados, tomatoes, lime, and cilantro.

 

Cut your avocados in half and remove the pit.  I whack it with my knife and then turn until the pit comes out.  Then I use a spoon to remove the flesh from the skin.  Mmm…love that creamy goodness!

 

My daughter is getting really good at mashing…I love that she wants to help me in the kitchen!  Normally, I keep it a bit on the chunky side, but she was having such a good time mashing, that it turned out pretty smooth…this is her “CHEESE!” face :)

 

Add in your lime juice, garlic or onion, chipotle chili powder, salt and pepper.  Adjust the spices to your taste.  I omitted the garlic and onion because I still haven’t quite gotten past that aversion with this pregnancy, but please add it to yours :)  Add your tomatoes and cilantro.  We happen to love cilantro, but I know there are many people out there who can’t stand the stuff, so omit if this applies to you.  It will still be really delicious!

 

I just want to dive in there with a chip right this instant!  The secret ingredient is the chipotle chili powder, it gives the guacamole a smoky flavor and a great kick.  Alternatively, you could use finely diced jalapeño, or use both if you can handle the spice!  Hope this becomes a regular in your house too!

Guacamole

2 ripe Haas avocados

1 lime, juiced

1/4 tsp chipotle chili powder, may add more if you like it spicier

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 garlic clove, minced or 1/4 cup diced red onion

1 medium tomato, diced or handful of halved cherry tomatoes

2 T minced cilantro

Do you have any fond memories associated with food?

5 thoughts on “Food Memories – Guacamole

  1. I really like guacamole, but have never made it from scratch. It can be hard to get good quality avocados here in Scotland, but this looks like a fun recipe to try to go with our homemade salsa. Thanks.

  2. Pingback: Healthy Fajitas « My Healthy 'Ohana

  3. Pingback: Homemade Trader Joe’s Chicken Chili Lime Burgers « My Healthy 'Ohana

  4. Pingback: Friday Favorites of the Week « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

