Healthy Banana Bread

We love banana bread in our family!   We can go through a loaf in just a few days…it’s perfect for breakfast, snacks and dessert.  I tried to lighten up the traditional banana bread recipe so that we can feel good about eating it!  Of course, I couldn’t resist adding some toffee chips in there, so you get that bit of decadent sweetness :)

First, mix your dry ingredients together: 1 1/2 cups flour, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp baking soda, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon.

Next, mix your wet ingredients: 1 egg, 3 tablespoons canola oil, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup agave nectar, and 1/2 tsp vanilla.

I like to use agave nectar to replace some of the sugar.  It is 1.5 times sweeter than sugar, but has a much lower glycemic index.  If you don’t have it, you can always just use sugar instead!

Now, mash up three large bananas, the riper the better!  This is a good time to use those bananas that have turned black on your counter.  Or use your frozen bananas and mash after they have thawed.  I had a special banana mashing helper :)

Now, just add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.  Add toffee bits or chocolate chips if desired, or you could go healthy and add some blueberries in there too!

Place the batter into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for approximately 50 minutes.  I cover the top of mine with foil about 3/4 of the way through the baking so that the top doesn’t get too brown.

It tastes as good as it looks!!  I love the little toffee bits in there that kind of melt into the bread.  It’s very moist and cake like in texture, which we love.  And you can feel good knowing there is very little oil and sugar in there compared to standard banana bread recipes!  I hope you’ll try this recipe out and let me know how it goes!

Healthy Banana Bread

1 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 egg

3 large bananas, mashed

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup agave nectar

3 T canola oil

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon together in a small bowl.  In a separate bowl mix the egg, mashed bananas, sugar, oil, and vanilla.  Add the wet to the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.  Place batter in a greased loaf pan and bake for approximately 50 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.  Tent foil over the top 3/4 of the way through the baking if your bread is getting too brown on top.  Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: One Ingredient Banana “Ice Cream” « My Healthy 'Ohana

  2. I’m up early with Grace. She sick but happy watching Mickey Mouse right now and I am trying to decide which banana bread recipe to try. Thank you for the additional option. I do have agave syrup here. I bought it to substitute some of the honey or maple syrup (dip) that Garrett loves. I am a little hesitant to try it myself though!

    I started peeling my ripe bananas, putting them in a zip lock bag and squeezing them in the bag to mash them. Then I put the bag in the freezer. Now instead of the pain of peeling frozen bananas, I just take the bag of mashed bananas out of the freezer when I decide to make bread and the bananas are soft by the time I need them. I think Garrett and Malia would like squeezing the bananas through the bag too!

    Did anyone get pictures on Sunday? Sounds like a wonderful afternoon.

Leave a Reply

