Happy Mornings

Image

I feel like the luckiest person in the world to wake up and have breakfast with this sweet face every morning.  She has a capacity for joy and pleasure in the simple things in life that puts everything in the right perspective for me.  I just love her so much!

Here’s another sweet face that makes my day :)

Image

This is our yellow lab, Kona.  He’s now almost five years old, but he was our first “baby”.  He loves nothing more than playing in the park, eating, and cuddling.  We’re not that different :)

This is another great way to start the day…

 

This french toast is one of mine and Malia’s favorites.  It’s so quick and easy and still tastes decadent even though I use barely any butter.  I start by using cinnamon raisin bread from Panera.  Are there Panera fans out there?  Panera is one of my favorite places for fast, healthy food.  My favorites are the Thai Chopped Chicken salad, Chipotle Chicken sandwich, Chicken Tortilla soup, and the hidden gem, the Meditteranean Veggie sandwich.  Give it a try if you haven’t, and let me know what you think!

Back to the french toast…it’s the perfect way to use slightly stale bread.  I even freeze my leftover bread, and defrost it on the counter the night before I’m going to use it, and it comes out perfectly.  You can use whatever bread you have on hand of course!  I’ve done this with challah with great success.

 

Soak your bread briefly in a mixture of 2 beaten eggs, 1/2 cup 1% milk, splash of vanilla, and sprinkle of cinnamon.  If you use challah, you could add some grated orange zest to give it some extra flavor.

 

Heat up a nonstick pan with a little bit of butter, this is important to give that little bit of buttery flavor and golden color to your french toast.

 

Once your butter has melted, place your bread in the hot pan, and cook until brown on both sides.  I love this beautiful golden crust you get on the french toast!

 

 

It feels like a weekend only breakfast, but it cooks up in less than 15 min, including prep time.  Simple ingredients, but incredibly comforting and delicious!

 

Serve warm drizzled with maple syrup on top!  Top it with fresh bananas, strawberries or blueberries for an extra something special.

 

Forget the fork, it’s good enough to stuff your face with…nothing wrong with that :)

 

Enjoy your morning and the simple joys in life!

3 thoughts on “Happy Mornings

  1. I love eating at Panera. I also love their cinnamon raisin bread, next time I purchase some, will be sure to make me some French toast.

Leave a Reply

