St. Patrick’s Day – Irish Soda Bread

Since I married into the O’Donnell family, I’ve really enjoyed embracing Irish culture and food.  St. Patrick’s Day is coming up, so I thought I’d share my new favorite recipe for Irish Soda Bread.  It’s actually a Barefoot Contessa recipe.  I’ve made quite a few different kinds of Irish Soda Bread, and this one is so moist from the buttermilk with a tender crumb and a hint of citrus from the orange zest.  It’s not traditional, but my mother-in-law and Patrick’s grandmother both loved it!  I guess that’s an endorsement :)  I used raisins instead of currants because that’s what I had on hand, and I like raisins better.

Of course, we couldn’t forget the corned beef and cabbage!  This corned beef came from Costco, and was really a nice cut of meat, not very fatty.  We just put it into the slow cooker and cook all day until tender, then add the vegetables and potatoes at the end before everyone arrives, so they absorb some of that yummy flavor.  Serve it with your favorite Irish beer (we loved Smithwick’s when we visited Ireland) or cider, and you’ve got the makings of a great party!

Here’s my little sweetie one year ago when she was just over a year old, dancing her little Irish jig :)  Happy St. Patty’s Day to you all!

Do you have any St. Patrick’s Day traditions or favorite recipes?

2 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day – Irish Soda Bread

  1. Pingback: St. Patrick’s Day Treats « My Healthy 'Ohana

  2. Pingback: Weekend Fun and Bouchon Bistro « My Healthy 'Ohana

Leave a Reply

